social icons

Dear media partners, dear colleagues,

We are making progress: With today's press release, 143 bands and artists have been confirmed for this year's Reeperbahn Festival line-up! After the premiere in 2017, the BBC will be present with their BBC Music Introducing stage at Reeperbahn Festival for the second time on Wednesday, 18 September 2019.
Frehn Hawel

Hamburg, 11 June 2019


38 new acts confirmed 
The first quarter of the around 600 bands and artists performing at Reeperbahn Festival 2019 is complete, as usual, including all sorts of thrilling international names:
Among them songwriter and producer Jonathan Bree (NZ), a true master of a sound, ranging between indie pop and cocktail lounge, also co-founder of the label Lil‘ Chief Records as well as the indie band The Brunettes and one of the busiest and most prestigious artists in his home country with three published solo albums so far.  
Her debut singles "Chocolate" and "Daydreaming" were enough to turn the singer Celeste (GB) (photo) into one of the hottest new soul voices in the British Isles – a status further underpinned by three magnificent EPs.
Hip-hop enthusiasts treasure the rapper, producer and sample wizard Bugus (US) for his beat masterpieces, combining organic soul and funk flow with clever rhymes, while Adam Day alias County Line Runner (GB) unites yearningly-epic wide-screen indie sound, ranging between Americana and Echo & The Bunnymen with terrific melodic curves.
We can confirm that MAJAN (DE) also has an unerring instinct for catchy melodies, matching samples and production, serving his raps that change from German to English and vice versa with a shot of easy-going soul.  

Also confirmed: Mattiel (US), Das Ding aus dem Sumpf (DE), W.H. Lung (GB), Joy Crookes (GB), Moli (DE), Suzanne Santo (US), Skinny Pelembe (GB), Matija (DE), Carlie Hanson (US), Bloxx (GB), Ali Barter (AU), Snapped Ankles (GB), Squid (GB), Emma McGrath (GB), Bobby Oroza (FI), DRAHLA (GB), Balcony (GB), Bess Atwell (GB), Tan LeRacoon (DE), Pauls Jets (AT), Velvet Volume (DK), The Exorcist GBG (SE), Bror Gunnar Jansson (SE), Pink Milk (SE), Songs Of Boda (SE), Miss June (NZ), Ida Kudo (DK), Bartleby Delicate (LU), Virginia And The Flood (SE), Tamzene (GB), Asthm (FI), Minipax (DE), Ami Warning (DE).


BBC Music Introducing night at Reeperbahn Festival 
After their successful premiere at Reeperbahn Festival in 2017, the BBC will also stage a concert night at the Nochtspeicher on Wednesday in 2019 (18 September 2019), hoisting the BBC Music Introducing banner.
The BBC Music Introducing programme, launched in 2007, addresses undiscovered British bands and artists who register on the BBC Music Introducing website to upload their music. This has resulted in a large network of meanwhile over 200,000 artists and more than 500,000 tracks, offering the most promising talents nationwide transmitting in the numerous channels of the BBC family, such as Radio 1, 1Xtra, Radio 2, Radio 3, 6 Music as well as the Asian BBC channels. Moreover, BBC Music Introducing has already given thousands of acts the chance to perform on the stages of important festivals such as Glastonbury, Latitude, Reading, Leeds and showcase festivals, e.g. SXSW in Austin, Eurosonic in Groningen or Winter Jazz in New York.
Among past BBC Music Introducing participants are names like Florence + the Machine, Slaves, Nao, Catfish and the Bottlemen, Rae Morris, George Ezra, James Bay and Jack Garratt, who could count on the support of BBC Music Introducing at the beginning of their careers.

As announced in the show BBC Music Introducing on Radio 1 with Huw Stephens last Sunday night, BBC Music Introducing will present the following four acts at the Nochtspeicher on Wednesday, 18 September 2019:
Bloxx (GB) convince with carefree energetic catchy rock tunes.
Singer-songwriter Joy Crookes (GB) merges in her songs musical statements with neo-soul, r'n'b and pop appeal while guitarist and songwriter, rapper and singer, beat tinker and producer Skinny Pelembe (GB) captivates people with a clear artistic vision ranging between UK bass and psychedelic funk, left-field folk and r'n'b on his debut record "Dreaming Is Dead Now".
The trio W.H. Lung (GB) on the other hand combines neo-psychedelia with post punk and space rock to create songs with wonderful melodies, almost bursting with creativeness.

At any rate, one thing is sure – that in these times of political confusion, the homeland of pop does not have to be afraid of losing its reliable source of artistic talents!





If you don't want to receive this email anymore, please click here to unsubscribe.

The newsletter is also available online.

Reeperbahn Festival Conference is organised by
Inferno Events GmbH & Co. KG
Neuer Pferdemarkt 1, 20359 Hamburg/Germany,
PhG: Inferno Events Verwaltungs GmbH,
Gf: Alexander Schulz, Detlef Schwarte, HRB: 78130

Photo 1: MCT Agentur, Photo 2: Nicolas Zimmel

Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Derer