social icons

Dear Media Partners, Dear Colleagues,

The official opening of the 14th Reeperbahn Festival begins on Wednesday, 18 September 2019, at 06.00 pm at the Stage Operettenhaus on the Reeperbahn and bears the name DOORS OPEN. It includes two concerts and will start with a show. The presenters Charlotte Roche and Ray Cokes as well as several top-class guests will reveal the core themes of this year's Reeperbahn Festival, including the introduction of the ANCHOR 2019 jury, this year's partner country Australia and last but not least the Keychange initiative for gender equality in music!
Frehn Hawel 

Hamburg, 13 August 2019


DOORS OPEN, the opening event of Reeperbahn Festival 2019 with a show and two concerts  
For Ray Cokes to suspend his legendary Ray's Reeperbahn Revue on Wednesday in order to open Reeperbahn Festival 2019 alongside Charlotte Roche, then DOORS OPEN must be a very special event.

With pace, humour, controversial themes and a passion for new music and concerts, the presenter duo will lead visitors through an one-hour show with many guests: 
They will present this year's jury for ANCHOR - the Reeperbahn Festival International Music Award, consisting of legendary producers Bob Rock and Tony Visconti, musicians Peaches and Kate Nash, Australian TV and radio presenter Zan Rowe and Beatsteaks singer Arnim Teutoburg-Weiß. The jury members will explain what makes the Reeperbahn Festival so special, what defines a good live performance and what qualities they expect of the six contestants who will also be introduced during the show. 
Launched by the British PRS Foundation and Reeperbahn Festival in 2017, the Keychange initiative promotes gender equality in music and has since become one of the most visible parameters of Reeperbahn Festival's sociopolitical commitment. At DOORS OPEN, the new German Keychange ambassador, Joy Denalane, explains what motivated her to make such a prominent commitment to the initiative and will also musically present her message.  
Two international live acts complete the show: Dope Lemon (AU), alias Angus Stone proves why he is currently regarded as one of the hottest singer-songwriters of this year's partner country Australia. For the second live performance, none other than Canadian songwriter Leslie Feist (CA) (photo) will take centre stage, who has influenced an entire generation of female musicians with her five albums to date, including the worldwide success "Let It Die".  

The one-hour opening event will be followed by two concerts by Dope Lemon and Feist in the Operettenhaus. 

The schedule of the opening event DOORS OPEN at a glance:  

  • 05.00 pm: Reception
  • 06.00 pm: DOORS OPEN Show
  • 07.00 pm: DOORS OPEN Aftershow Party
  • 09.15 pm: DOORS OPEN Concert (Dope Lemon)
  • 11.15 pm: DOORS OPEN Concert (Feist)

The DOORS OPEN opening event (DOORS OPEN Show and the two DOORS OPEN Concerts) is open to all invited guests and all 1-day ticket-holders for Wednesday and 4-day ticket-holders including Wednesday. Admission is subject to available capacity.  

In order for media representatives to secure a place at our DOORS OPEN opening event on Wednesday, 18 September 2019, we kindly ask you to register via the press accreditation system. Your name will then be placed on the list of media representatives so that you will have guaranteed access. Please note that your DOORS OPEN wristband must be collected after registration at the press counter in the Stage Operettenhaus by 05.45 pm on the day of the event at the latest, otherwise your right to admission will no longer be valid.  


51 new acts at the Reeperbahn Festival line up
Even though the music programme of Reeperbahn Festival 2019 is almost complete, today's announcement of 51 new acts is yet another indication of very exciting musical themes:  

The female vocal ensemble Les Amazones d'Afrique (ML) combines in its music the zeitgeist of the here and now with African musical traditions and important political messages into a riveting overall package, which is guaranteed to capture every audience.  
Diametrically opposed is the voice of the concrete generation and utter nihilism of the profane rap crew 102 Boyz (DE) from East Frisia, whose cosmos between Opel Ascona and Korn and hits such as "Riskante Geschäfte" or "New Kids" is currently making a powerful impact in the rap scene.  
Arthur Jeffes' ten-piece Penguin Cafe (GB), which also includes members of Gorillaz and Suede, has been producing exciting albums of modern narrative chamber music for more than a decade. Releases such as 2017’s "The Imperfect Sea" have impressed audiences with an entirely independent sound, captivating not just classical music lovers. 
We know that dancing can have meditative effects - producer Franz Matthews feat. Local Suicide (DE) takes this insight to the next level with their joint single "Meditation/Tutan Jamon": rapturous house beats and nu-disco orientalism provide the relaxing soundtrack for the next heat wave.  
The fact that country and hip-hop can be combined is only surprising at first glance: When you hear "The Git Up" by Blanco Brown (US) (photo) you also understand why. Sitting still is impossible and the accompanying dance moves literally remove a cowboys' leather pants. What the Country-Trap artist has to offer besides this smash single, you can find out at Reeperbahn Festival 2019!  

Also confirmed: Faraj Suleiman (PS), NUGAT (DE), MÖRK (HU), Der Bürgermeister der Nacht (DE), Botschaft (DE), Madison McFerrin (US), HYYTS (GB), Casey Lowry (GB), ROE (GB), J.Lamotta (DE, IL), Badchieff (DE), Scharping (DE), Ingrid Andress (US), Hugar (IS), Rebecca Lou (DK), Cinemagraph (DE), ok.danke.tschüss (DE), Kirchner hochtief (DE), BINHO (DE), Paul Weber (DE), Linda Vogel (CH), Ikan Hyu (CH), Ella Soto (CH), Priya Ragu (CH), Camilla Sparksss (CH), la colère (CH), Laybricks (KR), SURL (KR), Colde (KR), Jealous (DE), Bison Bisou (FR), Weekend Affair (FR), Nouveaux Climats (FR), BRTHR (DE), Echo Collective (BE), DJ Clé (DE), Catastrophe (FR), La Chica (FR, VE), Bongeziwe Mabandla (FR, ZA), Sillyboy's Ghost Relatives (GR), Sarah P. (GR), Sworr (GR), Rachel Wammack (US), Sketches on Duality (AT), Irma (FR), Dirk Maassen (DE).





If you don't want to receive this email anymore, please click here to unsubscribe.

The newsletter is also available online.

Reeperbahn Festival is organised by
Reeperbahn Festival GbR, Neuer Pferdemarkt 1, 20359 Hamburg
PhG: Inferno Events GmbH & Co. KG und Karsten Jahnke Konzertdirektion GmbH,
Gf: Alexander Schulz / U-I-Nr.: DE247756458

RBF Logo

Photo 1: Mary Rozzi | Photo 2: Wizard Promotions

Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Deezer